Languague menu

SBCS working model

Classifying socially oriented entrepreneurial activity is a challenging task. Science has so far come to a result that is not really satisfactory yet. We have therefore developed a working model that uses three central differentiation categories:

  1. Does a company / organization / project achieve social development, particularly through its core processes? - Social development?
  2. Is the primary challenge of the entrepreneurial activity a social problem? - Social intention?
  3. Where do the money and liquid funds come from? - Cash flow?
Arbeitsmodell Social Business

Social Business working model

First, we ask ourselves whether a company, an organization or a project achieves social goals in relation to a problem in relation to its core processes. It should be borne in mind that both social goals and those that can be identified as a problem are very culturally bound and dependent on social standards.

If we see that a company tends not to bring anything to the society or improve it, then we ask a sub-question. Namely, whether the company implements CSR activities (Corporate Social Responsibility) and sees itself in the sense of corporate citizenship as an actor in a social environment and is socially committed, e.g. about donations or other activities that show a sense of responsibility. Nowadays hardly any company can really afford not to rely on the triple bottom line of "People, Planet, Profit". Companies that are socially committed, i.e. we call CSR activities “Responsible Businesses”. Organizations that do not do this at all are referred to as "Conventional Business", which we perceive as a species that is becoming smaller in number.

The next question we ask is whether the primary goal or the primary intention of doing business is a social concern. So is there a “societal” intention that essentially defines entrepreneurial activity? This can be assessed, for example, via mission statements, overall concepts, communication channels, etc., which express why the entrepreneur, the management team or the managers are "economically" committed. A good example is the Styrian chocolatier Josef Zotter. His his primary intention is to produce the best chocolates in the world. As a "by-product" - to be able to guarantee the best quality - he builds "sustainable" and fair relationships in the supply chain. We refer to entrepreneurs / organizations of this type as "Social Impact Businesses".

If a company / organization has primary “social” intentions, we ask the question about the origin of the cash flow, what is the source of necessary revenues . We differentiate between three size categories:

  • In size category 1, we see companies / organizations that generate between 0% and 20% of their revenue via the market. We differentiate between non-profit organizations (NPOs), civil society organizations (CSOs) or non-governmental organizations (NGOs). They earn between 80% and 100% of their income in return for services or products for the common good from the public sector or private philanthropists.
    Examples of NPOs: Caritas, MSF, Clinic clowns
    Examples of CSOs: volunteer fire brigade, rural youth association
    Examples of NGOs: attac, Amnesty International, WWF
  • In size category 2 we define "social hybrids"organizations / companies with sales revenue between 20% and 80%. They generally use the market principle in a very balanced manner, as well as the commitment of philanthropic and public actors.
    Styrian examples would be Bicycle, Atempo, Heidenspass
  • Size category 3 comprises "social business"with 80% to 100% of sales via market structures. They can exist relatively independently of the public sector and legitimize their existence through the principle of supply and demand. Examples would include Compuritas, Weltläden, , Grameen Bank, Bonergie
Comments are closed.

SBCS Arbeitsmodell

Gesellschaftlich unternehmerisches Handeln zu klassifizieren ist eine herausfordernde Aufgabe, zu der die Wissenschaft bis jetzt in einem noch nicht so wirklich zufriedenstellenden Ergebnis gekommen ist. Daher haben wir ein Arbeitsmodell entwickelt, welches sich drei zentraler Differenzierungskategorien bedient:

  1. Erzielt ein Unternehmen/Organisation/Projekt eine gesellschaftliche Verbesserung, insbesondere über seine/ihre Kernprozesse? – Social Improvement?
  2. Ist das primäre Anliegen der unternehmerischen Tätigkeit ein gesellschaftliches Anliegen? – Social Intention?
  3. Woher kommen das Geld, die liquiden Mittel? – Cash Flow?
Arbeitsmodell Social Business

Arbeitsmodell Social Business

Zuerst fragen wir uns ob ein Unternehmen, eine Organisation oder ein Projekt eine gesellschaftliche Verbesserung in Bezug auf eine Problemstellung über seine/ihre Kernprozesse erzielt. Dabei ist zu bedenken, dass sowohl gesellschaftliche Verbesserung als auch das was als Problemstellung auszumachen ist, sehr kulturgebunden und von gesellschaftlichen Standards abhängig ist.

Sehen wir, dass ein Unternehmen eher keine gesellschaftlichen Verbesserungen bewirkt oder bezweckt, dann stellen wir eine Unterfrage. Nämlich ob das Unternehmen CSR-Aktivitäten (Corporate Social Responsibility) setzt, und sich im Sinne des Corporate Citizenship als Akteur in einem gesellschaftlichen Umfeld versteht und sich gesellschaftlich engagiert, z.B. über Spenden oder andere Aktivitäten die ein Verantwortungsbewusstsein zeigen. Wohlgemerkt kann es sich heutzutage kaum noch ein Unternehmen leisten nicht wirklich auf den Tripple-Bottom-Line-Claim „People, Planet, Profit“ zu setzen. Unternehmen die sich gesellschaftlich engagieren, d.h. CSR-Aktivitäten setzen nennen wir „Responsible Businesses“. Organisationen die das überhaupt nicht tun, bezeichnen wir als „Conventional Business“, einer unserer Wahrnehmung nach zahlenmäßig kleiner werdenden Spezies.

Die nächste Frage die wir stellen lautet, ob das primäre Anliegen oder die primäre Absicht der unternehmerischen Tätigkeit ein gesellschaftliches Anliegen ist. Gibt es also eine „gesellschaftliche“ Intention, die die unternehmerische Aktivität in ihrem Kern überhaupt ausmacht? Zu beurteilen ist das beispielsweise über Mission-Statements, Leitbilder, Kommunikationskanäle etc. die zum Ausdruck bringen, warum sich der Unternehmer, das Management-Team oder die Führungskräfte sich „wirtschaftlich“ engagieren. Ein gutes Beispiel ist der Chocolatier Josef Zotter. Sein klares Ziel, das heißt seine primäre Intention ist es die besten Schokoladen der Welt zu produzieren. Als „Nebenprodukt“ – um die beste Qualität gewährleisten zu können – baut er wie selbstverständlich „nachhaltig“ faire Beziehungen zu seinen Lieferanten auf. Unternehmer/Organisationen dieses Typus bezeichnen wir als „Social Impact Businesses“.

Ist bei einem Unternehmen/einer Organisation eine primäre „gesellschaftliche“ Intention ausgemacht, dann stellen wir die Frage nach der Herkunft des Cash Flows, das heißt woher das Geld bzw. die Umsätze kommen. Hier unterscheiden wir drei Größenklassen:

  • In der Größenklasse 1 sehen wir Unternehmen/Organisationen die zwischen 0% und 20% ihrer Umsätze über den Markt generieren, d.h. diese nur in einem untergeordnetem Ausmaß über den Markt erwirtschaften, unterscheiden wir Non-Profit-Organisations (NPOs), Civil Society Organizations (CSOs) oder Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs). Sie erzielen eben zwischen 80% und 100% ihrer Einnahmen als Gegenleistung für Dienstleistungen oder Produkte für das Gemeinwohl von der öffentlichen Hand oder privaten Philanthropen.
    Beispiele NPOs: Caritas, Ärzte ohne Grenzen, Klinik-Clowns
    Beispiele CSOs: Freiwillige Feuerwehr, Landjugend
    Beispiele NGOs: attac, Amnesty International, WWF
  • Organisationen/Unternehmen in der Größenklasse 2 mit Umsätzen zwischen 20% und 80% die über den Markt gemacht werden definieren wir „Social Hybrids“. Sie bedienen sich in der Regel sehr ausgewogen dem Marktprinzip, als auch dem Commitment von philanthropischen und öffentlichen Akteuren.
    Beispiele (mit Steiermarkbezug) wären BAN, Bicycle, Atempo
  • Größenklasse 3 umfasst mit 80% bis 100% der Umsätze über Marktstrukturen unsere Kategorie der „Social Businesses“. Sie können relativ unabhängig von der öffentlichen Hand existieren und legitimieren ihre Existenz über das Prinzip Angebot und Nachfrage. Beispiele wären u.a. Compuritas, Weltläden, eine Welt Handel, Grameen Bank, Bonergie
Comments are closed.